Admandla! Ngawethu!

spending my nights reading Nelson Mandela’s biography, i cannot help but well up with pride. It’s not my country, but I have been and it did not take long for the country to capture my heart. As rain drizzles down my window, I read Mandela’s last words before be sentanced to life in prison on Robben Island:

During my lifetime I have dedicated myself to thsi struggle of the African people … I have cherished the ideal of a democratic and free society in which all persons live together in harmony and with equal opportunities. It is an ideal with I hope to live for and to achieve. But if needs be, it is an ideal for which I am prepared to die.

What a man. Between his dagger-to-the-heart words, and the rain pounding away outside, I long to be back in South Africa. Warm, colourful, wild South Africa.

Hence, a photo from the train station from the town where I stayed:

Leave a Reply

