South East Asia : Cambodia – Part 1

I got married in 2009. The blessings were really overwhelming: our parents, our siblings, our friends and even strangers all seemed to go out of their way to support and encourage us in every way imaginable. Not to mention the abundance of gifts we received! It was really an overwhelmingly wonderful time. So, my man and I decided that the following summer, for our first anniversary, we would go abroad and volunteer with Habitat for Humanity. And we did, in Cambodia! Now, these pictures aren’t really of us doing the work, because if I was in the picture, then I obviously did not take the photo. And the point of this little blog is to share photos I’ve taken, not photos of me, no matter how great I look sweating in 40 degree Celsius heat and 100% humidity. Trust me, I looked good.

We worked about an hour outside of Phnom Penh, the capital city, in an area called Oudong. We build three homes for three beautiful families. These are mostly photos of the children and families that received the houses we built.  There will be more photos from Cambodia to come, don’t worry.

These photos will be available on my website soon, for sale. 50% of the proceeds will go to Habitat for Humanity Cambodia.

That is, if I can figure out how to make my website obey me. Stay Tuned!

2 thoughts on “South East Asia : Cambodia – Part 1

  1. Hart's All Over the World says:

    Stumbled on your blog from the freshly pressed blogs about photography page.

    Excellent portraits, Kate. I really love the photograph of the young child with his hand through the fence.
    Kudos to you and your husband for volunteering. Happy anniversary as well.

Leave a Reply

